Select Page

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Śrī rāma rāma rāmeti – Friday community japa

April 8 @ 5:00 pm - 5:45 pm

Friday 08 April
12noon NYC | 5pm Brussels | 8.30pm India
45 minute class

Celebrating Rāma navami (April 10) with this community japa!

Considered one of the most important of the Sahasranāma-s (1000 names) along with the Lalitā Sahasranāma, the Viṣṇu Sahasranāma is from the 149th adhyāya of the Anuśāna-parva of the Mahābhārata.

It is one of the most popular forms of prayer. It is a praise of the Lord with thousand words. Swami Dayananda Saraswati says “The Viṣṇu Sahasranāma does not propound a theology, it merely talks about what is already said in the Śruti, Smṛti and Purāṇa-s“.

“Each of these words is a name of Īśvara and when understood becomes a window through which you look at Īśvara and understand Īśvara with awe and wonderment.”

Join me for an introduction to this beautiful and powerful prayer. We will also chant one verse from the “phala-śruti“:

śrīrāma rāma rāmeti rame rāme manorame |
sahasranāma tattulyaṃ rāmanāma varānane ||

This verse says that the name of Rāma is equal to the Sahasranāma!

This is a FREE class, open to all levels.

With much love,
Shantala

Details

Date:
April 8
Time:
5:00 pm - 5:45 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZApdeigqzgvGNFvf83lJj6s6nlBelQuEUpq