Select Page

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Celebrating Śaṅkara jayanti – Friday community class

May 6 @ 5:00 pm - 5:45 pm

Friday 06 May
11am NYC | 5pm Brussels | 8.30pm IST

45 minutes class 

On this day, we celebrate Śrī Ādi Śaṅkarācārya Jayanti, the birth anniversary of the greatest philosopher, teacher and Bhāṣyakāra – one of the greatest commentators of Vedānta and other spiritual texts. He enjoys a very high status in the Advaita Vedāṅta tradition and you will always find his picture in traditional homes like mine, my dad’s pūja room has a big cut out (yes, a cut-out, like one you’d have for a celebrity or someone running an election campaign). Without his bhāṣyam (commentaries), we would not have access to a complete understanding of the Upaniṣads.

I invite you to join me for an introduction on the life and works of Śrī Ādiśaṅkarācārya, which will include glimpses into some of his inspiring compositions like the Sādhana pañcakam – the 5 verses unfolding the clear steps and vision of one’s sādhana.

We will also practice the Rudra gāyatri mantra japa as instructed by my teacher Guruji Sreenivasan.

Replay will be available for 48 hours to registered participants.

This is a FREE community class, open to all levels of students.

With much love – Shantala

 

Details

Date:
May 6
Time:
5:00 pm - 5:45 pm
Event Category:
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUlduyrqzsiHNFKo-NUy9Y-iuacosY0bKMe